Derrick Henry Wins the Heisman Trophy

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports
Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Derrick Henry is the winner of the 81st Heisman Trophy Award. Henry is the second winner from the University of Alabama joining former running back Mark Ingram.

Henry was announced as the winner on Saturday during a live broadcast on ESPN. The other two finalists that were invited to New York City were Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey.

Henry tied the SEC record with his 23 rushing touchdowns in a single season in 2015. He is expected to cross the 2,000-yard mark for the season when Alabama plays Michigan State in the College Football Playoff. Henry is currently at 1,986 total rushing yards. He is averaging 5.9 yards per carry this season.

Henry, a junior, leads the NCAA in carries, rushing yards and rushing touchdowns during the 2015 season.

He received 378 first place votes. McCaffrey finished second with 290 first place votes.

Watson and the Clemson Tigers will play in the College Football Playoff Semifinals against the Oklahoma Sooners. Henry and the Crimson Tide will play the Spartans at the Cotton Bowl. McCaffrey and Stanford will play in the Rose Bowl against the Iowa Hawkeyes.


Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Share with your friends