Kyle Busch wins Spint Cup Series Championship

Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports
Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

Kyle Busch took home the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup championship by winning the Ford EcoBoost 400 on Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Kevin Harvick finished a distant second, Jeff Gordon was sixth and Martin Truex Jr., the fourth driver in the championship field, finished 12th.

“I don’t know if I quite understand life yet, but there’s something to be said about this year,” an emotional Busch said on his team radio.

Busch missed 11 races this season after he crashed into a concrete wall the day before the Daytona 500 and broke his right leg and left foot.  NASCAR  granted him a waiver to race for the championship if he earned a berth in the playoffs.

Now Busch, racing for Joe Gibbs, is a champion and the first Toyota driver to win the title.

“I just can’t believe it, with everything that happened this year, all the turmoil, everything I went through, my wife went through,” Busch said. “I said back then, I’ll say it again, the rehab and then getting back and getting focused was the hardest part, the hardest thing I’ve ever gone through.

“To put it all together here tonight, this night wasn’t all that hard.”

The title is the fourth NASCAR crown for Joe Gibbs, a three-time Super Bowl winning coach, but first Cup title since 2005.

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Share with your friends